Whether you’re driving to Myrtle Beach, spending a day with the family at the Riverbanks Zoo, or taking in a Ranger’s baseball game in Arlington, you’ll be able to relax and enjoy the day knowing you have proper car insurance.

Required Car Insurance in South Carolina

South Carolina car insurance laws require that you have at least the minimum required amounts of both:

  • Liability coverage.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage.

Liability insurance pays for damages/losses and injuries to the other party if you cause an accident.

Required minimum liability coverage in South Carolina:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person.
  • $50,000 total for bodily injury or death per accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured motorist insurance pays for the damages/losses and injuries that you suffer if you are in an accident caused by driver who does not have car insurance.

NOTE: A registered uninsured driver who causes an accident must pay for damage or medical costs out of your own pocket. This type of uninsured driver is not covered by uninsured motorist coverage.

In South Carolina, you must have the following minimum uninsured motorist coverage:

  • $25,000 for property damage.
  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident.

To ensure drivers continue to meet the Financial Responsibility requirements, South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) will verify your coverage electronically. Insurance companies notify SCDMV of policy cancellations electronically through the Automobile Insurance Liability Reporting System (ALIR).

When SCDMV receives this notification, a letter is automatically sent to the vehicle owner requiring them to provide verification of insurance coverage within 20 business days. If SCDMV does not receive verification within that period of time, the vehicle owner’s privilege to drive, license plate and vehicle registration(s) of the vehicles listed on the policy will be suspended.

What happens if you do not have coverage?

Your privilege to drive, license plate and vehicle registration may be suspended and you may have to pay a $200.00 reinstatement fee. You will also have to pay $5.00 for each day your vehicle was uninsured, up to $200.00.

What happens if my driver’s license and my license plate and vehicle registration are suspended?

While under suspension, you may not drive any vehicle or register any vehicle that was uninsured. If you do not return your vehicle license to the SCDMV, a South Carolina Trooper will confiscate your license plate.

What happens if you receive a citation for driving uninsured?

If you are found guilty and you were driving a vehicle that you did not own, your driver’s license will be suspended for thirty days and you will be required to pay a $100.00 reinstatement fee. If you were found guilty and you were driving a vehicle that you own, your driver license and your registration privileges will be suspended until the Department receives a $550.00 reinstatement fee. You will also be required to file an SR-22 for three years, starting from the beginning date of the suspension.

Penalties for Driving without Auto Insurance in South Carolina

1st Offense                                                                2nd Offense                                                      3rd Offense

Failure to surrender registration and plates when insurance lapses Second violation within 10 years Third or subsequent violation within 10 years
Fine: $100-$200 and $5 for every day without insurance. Fine: $200 and $5 for every day without insurance Fine: $5 for every day without insurance.
Imprisonment: or imprisoned for 30 days Imprisonment: or imprisoned for 30days or both fined and imprisoned. Imprisonment: For not less than forty-five days nor more than six months
Suspension of License: Until proper proof of liability insurance coverage is provided Suspension of License: Until proper proof of liability insurance coverage is provided Suspension of License: Until proper proof of liability insurance coverage is provided
Suspension of Registration: Until proper proof of liability insurance coverage is provided and until the owner has paid a reinstatement fee of $200 Suspension of Registration: Until proper proof of liability insurance coverage is provided and until the owner has paid a reinstatement fee of $200 Suspension of Registration: until proper proof of liability insurance coverage is provided and until the owner has paid a reinstatement fee of $200

South Carolina Teen Driver Laws

In addition to meeting the regular requirements needed to apply for a South Carolina driver license, teens must reach certain age- and experience-related milestones on their road to a full driver’s license to comply with the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program.

Call Driver’s Choice today for a free car insurance quote. Get protected and enjoy the savings.